Thoughts on Finishing Book 3

Three down, four to go!

So I’ve just now finally finished Shield Breaker (I wrote this post literally just after I’d typed the ending and I’m uploading it two days later), and some of those scenes were so intense I had to have a lie down afterwards. I felt drained while the characters were drained – it’s strange how much writing can take out of you. I’m so happy and relieved and satisfied I’ve finished it! Seriously, parts of the book hit me really hard. My characters have been in pain, crying, covered in blood, forcefully separated from each other… This book was almost as painful as Book 4 is going to be.

Writing a few scenes I’ve dreamed about, imagined playing in movie trailers, was really surreal – especially when they turned out how I always hoped they would!

I can’t believe that I’m half a book away from being halfway through the Soul Seeker series. Because the idea for Soul Seeker has been in my head since I was 15, and in all those old versions of the series I never managed to get past Book 1. Now I’m done with Book 3 and I know this is the version of the idea that’s here to stay. I will finish it one day. I’ll write Book 7 and probably go cry for a full day.

Whenever I finish writing a book I always feel like… now what do I do?? What do I do with my life until I’m ready to start the next one?

Shield Breaker: completed 22/7/17 at 93,082 words and 39 chapters. And a very bittersweet ending.

It’s not all on Wattpad yet either – I’m still going to be uploading it a chapter a day which gives me chance to read through everything and make sure the stuff I’ve just written actually makes sense… and isn’t really stupid…

I’ve also started reading my own work out loud to myself and it’s very helpful! When revising I tend to skim read even if I don’t mean to. But reading out loud forces me to spend longer on each sentence. (Plus I’ve started getting very into character and emotional whenever I have to speak dialogue… Maybe I should be an actor. I’m kidding. I’d be a terrible actor. In Drama class they used to force us to stand up and perform, and I used to get very bad stage fright. I was a shy, quiet child, so Drama was literally hell for me. I dropped it as soon as I could…)

Leave a Reply

